Women’s Soccer Claims Second Straight NCAA Tournament Berth

Women’s Soccer Claims Second Straight NCAA Tournament Berth


INDIANAPOLIS – The Southern New Hampshire University women's soccer team collected its fifth selection to the NCAA Tournament – and second straight – when the NCAA Selection Committee announced its expanded field of 56 teams Monday evening.

Southern New Hampshire (14-4-2), which garnered an at-large bid, earns the now-eight-team East Region's No. 4 seed and will travel to Franklin Pierce University's Sodexo Field to take on fifth-seeded Long Island University-LIU Post (13-3-3) on Friday, Nov. 9 (11 a.m.).

The winner of the SNHU/LIU Post match will meet the victor of top-seeded Franklin Pierce (15-1-2) and eighth-seeded Caldwell University (12-6-1) on Sunday, Nov. 11 (2 p.m.). The winner from that match will head to the highest remaining seed from the Atlantic Region to battle the team that emerges from the University of Bridgeport side of the bracket in the third round of the NCAA Tournament on Nov. 16.

The quarterfinal round will take place at the same sites as the third round Nov. 18, while the semifinals and final will be played Nov. 29 and Dec. 1 at Highmark Stadium in Pittsburgh, Pa., hosted by Clarion University.

SNHU will be making its fifth appearance, overall, in the NCAA Tournament and carries in an all-time record of 1-3-1 after winning its first match last season. The Pioneers lead the all-time series with the Penmen, 7-3-0, with the two teams meeting for the first time in the NCAA postseason. In the second game of the season, 24th-ranked Southern New Hampshire scored a 3-1 victory against 16th-ranked LIU Post back on Sept. 2.

Continue to check SNHUPenmen.com and all of the Penmen social media outlets for more information on the NCAA Division II East Regional.

For the latest on Southern New Hampshire University athletics, follow the Penmen via social media on TwitterFacebookYoutube and Instagram. Sign up to receive text message alerts and e-mail newsletters about your favorite Penmen teams here.