Baseball Places 23 in Summer Leagues

Baseball Places 23 in Summer Leagues

MANCHESTER, N.H. – The Southern New Hampshire University baseball program has a total of 23 players playing in wood bat summer leagues this summer.  Seven players are playing in the Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL), while five players are with New England Collegiate Baseball League (NECBL) clubs.  Junior-to-be Joe McCarthy (Nashua, N.H.) is with the Brewster Whitecaps of the Cape Cod Baseball League, widely regarded as the best collegiate summer league in the country.

Several Penmen have gotten off to strong starts.  In the NECBL, closer Benjamin Criscuolo (Branford, Conn.) has picked up where he left off this spring, not allowing an earned run in five appearances for the Keene Swamp Bats and striking out six.  In the FCBL, Mike Mastroberti (Ramsey, N.J.) and Tyler Fortanascio (Oradell, N.J.) are each batting .333 for the Seacoast Mavericks, while Lucas Olen (Bedford, N.H.) is 1-0 with a 1.12 ERA in four appearances for the Nashua Silver Knights.  Tim Viehoff (Derry, N.H.) is 1-0 with a 3.27 ERA and nine strikeouts in 11 innings for the Silver Knights, while in the New York Collegiate Baseball League (NYCBL), Zach Goldstein (Merrick, N.Y.) is batting .302 for the Geneva Twins.

Southern New Hampshire finished the 2014 season 41-14 overall, posting the second-most victories in program history.  The Penmen captured their first-ever Northeast-10 Northeast Division regular season title, as well as their first NE-10 Championship crown, and qualified for and hosted the NCAA East Regional for the third straight season.

For the latest on Southern New Hampshire University athletics, follow the Penmen via social media on Twitter (@snhupenmen), Facebook (, Youtube ( and Instagram (

Cape Cod Baseball League
Joe McCarthy – Brewster Whitecaps

New England Collegiate Baseball League
Derek Bauer – Newport Gulls
Ben Criscuolo – Keene Swamp Bats
Manny Cruz – Danbury Westerners
Lorenzo Papa – New Bedford Bay Sox
Matt Rabbito – Laconia Muskrats

Futures Collegiate Baseball League
Tyler Fortanascio – Seacoast Mavericks
Ryan Gendron – Seacoast Mavericks
Carson Helms – Nashua Silver Knights
Mike Mastroberti – Seacoast Mavericks
Lucas Olen – Nashua Silver Knights
Tim Viehoff – Nashua Silver Knights
Cole Warren – Nashua Silver Knights

New York Collegiate Baseball League
Zach Goldstein – Geneva Twins
Jake Murray – Wellsville Nitros

Hamptons Collegiate Baseball
Alex Person – Sag Harbor Whalers
Ian Searles – Sag Harbor Whalers

Coastal Plain League
Mike Montville – Wilmington Sharks

Atlantic Baseball Confederation Collegiate League
Alejandro Diaz – New Brunswick Matrix

Atlantic Collegiate Baseball League
Justin Valdespina – North Jersey Eagles

Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League
Bryan Toland – Adirondack Trail Blazers

Valley League
Zach Zona – Aldie Senators

Collegiate Baseball League Europe
Dylan Wisthoff – Sant Boi Falcons